Candidate Surveys: MiBank PAC

Today’s candidate survey comes from MiBank PAC, representing the Michigan Bankers Association. I don’t have much experience with banking beyond the normal, but I do pay enough attention to the news to know about issues related to banking. Let’s just jump right into this survey.

MiBankPAC01MiBankPAC02I have notoriously bad handwriting. I’m a lefty, and I broke my left hand when I was younger while playing baseball. It hasn’t quite been the same since. I’ll type out the answers to the questions here.

  1. I have a bachelor degree in English from the University of Michigan, who awarded me a full-tuition scholarship. I am working toward a Master of Science degree. I am currently seeking employment as a certified nurse aide, and have been previously employed as a park ranger. I don’t have much experience in the financial services industry, and therefore lack certain knowledge.
  2. I am a candidate for public office because there is too much money in politics, and elected officials are becoming less accountable to those who vote for them. I want to be a public servant, not a career politician.
  3. I have no previously been appoint or elected to public office.
  4. What are the five key endorsements you are seeking?
    1. Environmental groups.
    2. Labor groups.
    3. Teacher groups.
    4. Health groups.
    5. Civil rights groups.
  5. What are the top three constituencies in your district?
    1. Agriculture / farming.
    2. Labor.
    3. Business.
  6. I do not have any personal or business relationships apart from bank accounts, unfortunately. I would like to learn more.
  7. Given the events of the past decade (too big too fail, sub-prime mortgages, etc.) I’m not sure banks should  have less strict regulations and oversight. I’m not unsympathetic, but the economy is still recovering from these events. Regulations and oversight are vital for safe banks and consumer protection.
  8. Obviously, we need to reinvigorate Detroit’s jobs and economy. Tax incentives and other such things might lure tech business and other such industries. Further, we need to better utilize the bright students our world-class universities produce, and then give them incentives to stay here.
  9. It depends on how much revenue would be lost by eliminating the tax and how it would impact the communities in which they operate. I would need more information to make a commitment either way.

To clarify my answer to question eight, by giving students incentives to stay in Michigan, I mean to create an economy that would support them with jobs and a high standard of living. I have had many friends that have left the state to pursue opportunities in other states. Michigan has a bit of a reputation for losing the professionals that go through our universities to other states because those states have more attractive prospects for jobs. I think we can turn that around, but it’s going to take some hard work and investment in Michigan.

The problem I had with this survey was that I didn’t have much room to work with to answer the questions, and the consequence was that I had to truncate my responses. This was actually one of the first surveys I completed, and I think that shows. There’s a pretty huge learning curve the first time you run for office.

2 thoughts on “Candidate Surveys: MiBank PAC

  1. I would like to know if you support state workers specifically corrections department and if you agree that their wages and benefits, staffing need to be brought back up to where they should be. Also do you support the 2nd amendment, concealed weapon carry, and HB4133.

    • I do support state workers. They often do hard, thankless jobs–jobs that need to be done. Corrections officers and other employees have demanding, often dangerous jobs and that commitment should be recognize with the proper pay and benefits.

      I’d like to see them brought up to where they were. Taking the budgetary issues with prisons and jails out on the employees doesn’t solve the problem with their high costs.

      As for the second amendment, I am very pro-gun safety, and very pro-education. I recently took my girlfriend on a date to a shooting range. We fired a Smith and Wesson M&P 9mm. I believe that knowing how to properly handle guns is vital if you’re ever going to use them.

      I also recognize that we have to be honest about what they are: lethal weapons. I think that there is a time and a place for them, and that we should exercise discretion with where we take them in public. With that said, my grandfather has a concealed carry license and I’m generally supportive of these as long as the people who get the licenses meet certain criteria, such as passing a background check and knowing how to handle the weapons. I don’t think that this is unreasonable.

      I’ve done some research on HB4133. There are some concerns I have with it, as I see that it would exempt some people from carrying weapons into no-carry zones–locations like bars that are no-carry for obvious reasons. I can see why there are exemptions for certain licensed individuals.

      If you have any views or knowledge on this bill, I’d like to hear your perspective. You can comment here, or you can write me at jderke2014@gmail.com

Leave a Comment

