Candidate Survey: Michigan Right to Work Committee

I’ve mentioned before that I don’t particularly like surveys that reduce complex and contentious issues to simple  yes/no affairs. I rarely answer them because they’re often too simplistic or they misrepresent some of the issues. The Michigan Right to Work Committee had sent me a survey in June, which I declined to respond to because it fit the bill for these simplistic surveys.

I received another survey from them via certified mail today, and decide that I would send them a response in the form of a letter. If you visit the website, you can find such loaded language as “anti-worker” that really just destroys the opportunity for any meaningful dialogue about this issue.

First, I’ll post their letter and survey, and then a scan of the letter that I wrote.

MI Right to Work01MI Right to Work02MI Right to Work03MI Right to Work04I’ll be expanding my stance on unionization and right to work later in an “issues” post, but I think this should give you some idea about where I stand.

Remember, if you have any comments, please feel free to reply to this post in the comments section, or send me a message at jderke2014@gmail.com.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Comment

